#275 The Nokton 35 1,2 – A lens that makes me feel stupid

When we talk about an old traditional ”Swedish Fika”, I know a perfect place to experience it. In the small town of Gränna there is a café called ”Fiket”. A visit to the café is almost like stepping into a time machine. It’s interior is inspired by the design of the 1950:s. Even the pastries from the Swedish 1950:s can be found in the café. On the tables vinyl records serve as table cloths.

I arrived early in the day and had the place almost for my self. A good opportunity to shoot some pictures with my Voigtländer Nokton 35/1,2. The lens is the third version of the same koncept. But what about the lens – is it any good? And why does it make me feel stupid?

I bought the lens about a year ago. It was a used copy – but it was as new. I wanted a 35 mm Summilux, but it was at least three times the price. I did extensive research and found that the Voigtländer Nokton 35mm 1,2 version 3 seemed to be a very good alternative to the Summilux. It is a little bigger than the Summilux with it’s 52mm diameter front lens – compared to the 46mm of the Summilux. But on my MP typ 240 it balanced pretty well.

I must say that I am very pleased with the pictures from the Nokton. I can’t compare it to the Summilux – but from my standards it checks almost all the boxes of a good lens. It is well built, sharp from the widest aperture, nice colors, has a nice bokeh and all to a fair price.

But then I replaced my MP typ 240 with an M10. Suddenly the lens didn’t balance as well on the camera. I still liked the pictures from the lens – but on the M10 it felt to big and chunky. I decided to sell it and instead use the Summilux 50mm as my ”fast lens”.

This is when I started to feel stupid. I had the lens out for sale for more than a month. I got exactly zero answers on my ad. I lowered the price three times – still no answer. The last price was half of what a new costs. Finally I decided to keep it instead. Now I have used it for a while on the M10 and I am starting to get used to it. I still like the pictures a lot. I like to shoot it wide open – why else buy a lens like this?

But I feel really stupid now. I think this is a great lens for a very good price. But not one buisness proposal in more than a month. What is it that I don’t get about this lens. How can I be so wrong? Anyone??